Terchen Chokgyur Dechen Zhikpo Lingpa - The Seven Transmissions and the Thirty-Seven Treasure Sites

Terchen Chokgyur Dechen Zhikpo Lingpa presents a full visual journey to all the treasure sites of the Great Tertön, Chokgyur Dechen Zhikpo Linga (1829–1870). Recognized as one of Tibet’s foremost tertöns or treasures revealers, Chokgyur Lingpa worked tirelessly alongside Jamyang Khyentsé Wangpo (1813– 1899) and Jamgön Kongtrül Lodrö Thayé (1820–1892) to uphold and spread the profound teachings of Mahaguru Padmasambhava and the great wisdom dakini Yeshé Tsogyal. Chokgyur Lingpa’s revelations are replete with profound teachings meant for our times—practices that are concise, easy to apply and full of blessings.

The Great Tertön was particularly renowned for being entrusted as a holder of the full range of Dharma lineages: the Seven Transmissions—namely the oral lineage, earth treasures, rediscovered treasures, mind treasures, oral instructions, visionary revelations, and recollections from past lives. In honor of this incredible legacy, Terchen Chokgyur Dechen Zhikpo Lingpa traces the full arc of the Great Tertön’s revelations across the landscape of Tibet. These pages represent the fruition of a years-long project, on behalf of Phakchok Rinpoche, to document and preserve the Great Tertön’s legacy and lineage. Monks in Tibet thus traveled in person to the Great Tertön’s thirty-seven treasure sites and carefully documented them, and are now in the midst reviving them, with the consecration of new statues of Guru Padmasambhava to uphold this lineage of blessings.

Alongside images of the sacred sites where the Great Tertön’s Seven Transmissions of treasure revelation unfolded, this volume presents rich supplementary material, including translations of Guru Padmasambhava and the Great Tertön’s biographies. Those who wish to experience and connect with the Great Tertön’s life and legacy will find this an essential companion on their journey.

 Phakchok Rinpoche would like to personally dedicate this book to the Fourth Tsikey Chokling Rinpoche, to commemorate his upholding of the lineage and legacy of the Mahaguru and the Great Tertön. From the bottom of his heart, Rinpoche prays for all of Kyapjé Rinpoché’s aspirations to fully manifest. Sarva Mangalam.

About the main author:
Kyabgön Phakchok Rinpoche is a lineage-holder of the Profound Treasures of Chokgyur Lingpa from the Nyingma School of Early Translations. He is also one of the throne-holders of the Riwoche Taklung Kagyu lineage.

About Chokgyur Lingpa and his lineage: 

Chokgyur Lingpa Chokgyur Dechen Shikpo Lingpa (mchog gyur bde chen zhig po gling pa) (1829-1870) was one of the great tertöns and an emanation of Prince Murub Tsenpo. He was a contemporary of Jamyang Khyentse Wangpo and Jamgön Kongtrül, and, like Khyentse Wangpo, was entrusted with the seven special transmissions. His terma revelations – the Chokling Tersar (New Treasures of Chokgyur Lingpa) – include the Thukdrup Barché Kunsel, the Zabtik Drolchok, the Lamrim Yeshe Nyingpo, the Seven Profound Cycles, and the Three Sections of the Great Perfection. Profound teachings meant for our times, his revelations are known for including practices that are both concise and easy to apply. You can read more about Chokgyur Lingpa here: 

Coffee Table book
Hard cover book with color images
340 pages
(weighs about 1.8 kg)

Related Items