The Great Tertön

The Great Tertön is at once a history book, a collection of oral instructions, and a support for our practice. It presents the life-stories of Guru Rinpoché, Chokgyur Lingpa, and all the subsequent Chokling incarnations, as well as some of the main lineage masters from the line of transmission that has come down to rest with Kyabgön Phakchok Rinpoché. Each text benefits from a commentary by Kyabgön Phakchok Rinpoché, and each section is accompanied by a supplication or aspiration prayer, giving us the means to apply what we have learnt directly in our practice. The choice of texts and the structure of the book were designed by Rinpoché himself, who thereby gently guides us throughout the book towards a deeper understanding of the ground, path, and fruition of Vajrayāna practice.

The Great Tertön is thus an indispensable book for all Chokling Tersar practitioners, but also a source of wisdom and inspiration for any follower of the Vajrayāna. Filled with amazing accounts, replete with teachings on devotion and pure perception, The Great Tertön offers practitioners all the necessary resources to cultivate the right approach towards our practice and our teachers. It not only presents a large collection of translations of the writings of our lineage masters, but many original teachings from Phakchok Rinpoché. Moreover, Lhasey Lotsawa Translations and Publications wished for the book’s outer appearance to do honor to its precious contents, and The Great Tertön is therefore in hard-cover and beautifully illustrated with color pictures of sacred images. 

About the main author:
Kyabgön Phakchok Rinpoche is a lineage-holder of the Profound Treasures of Chokgyur Lingpa from the Nyingma School of Early Translations. He is also one of the throne-holders of the Riwoche Taklung Kagyu lineage.
About Chokgyur Lingpa and his lineage: 


Chokgyur Lingpa Chokgyur Dechen Shikpo Lingpa (mchog gyur bde chen zhig po gling pa) (1829-1870) was one of the great tertöns and an emanation of Prince Murub Tsenpo. He was a contemporary of Jamyang Khyentse Wangpo and Jamgön Kongtrül, and, like Khyentse Wangpo, was entrusted with the seven special transmissions. His terma revelations – the Chokling Tersar (New Treasures of Chokgyur Lingpa) – include the Thukdrup Barché Kunsel, the Zabtik Drolchok, the Lamrim Yeshe Nyingpo, the Seven Profound Cycles, and the Three Sections of the Great Perfection. Profound teachings meant for our times, his revelations are known for including practices that are both concise and easy to apply. You can read more about Chokgyur Lingpa here: 

Hard cover book with color images
560 pages
(weighs about 800 gms)

Related Items